Home » About


The North American Association for the Study of Religion (NAASR) was initially formed in 1985 by E. Thomas Lawson, Luther H. Martin, and Donald Wiebe, to encourage the historical, comparative, structural, theoretical, and cognitive approaches to the study of religion among North American scholars; to represent North American scholars of religion at the international level; and to sustain communication between North American scholars and their international colleagues engaged in the study of religion.

NAASR is incorporated as a nonprofit in the state of Vermont.

A brief history of NAASR, written by Luther H. Martin and Donald Wiebe, can be found here.

If you have any questions or want to contact us for any reason, please email the Executive Secretary, Martie Smith Roberts at robertsm (at) denison.edu.


Current NAASR Officers

Brad Stoddard, McDaniel College (2020)
Vice President
Rebekka King, Middle Tennessee State University (2020)
Executive Secretary/Treasurer
 Martha Smith Roberts, Denison University (2022)
               Ian Cuthbertson, Dawson College (2020)
              Adrian Hermann, Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (2020)
              Tara Baldrick-Morrone, Florida State University (2021)
              Stephanie Frank, Columbia College Chicago (2021)
              Andie Alexander, Emory University (2022)
              Emily Crews, University of Alabama, University of Chicago (2022)
              Steven Ramey, University of Alabama (ex officio as co-editor of MTSR)
              Steven Engler, Mount Royal University (ex officio as editor of Key Thinkers)
              K. Merinda Simmons, University of Alabama (ex officio as editor of Concepts)

Former NAASR Officers

Russell T. McCutcheon, University of Alabama (President, 2014-2017)
               Naomi Goldenberg (President, 2013-2014)
William Arnal (President, 2011-2013)
Willi Braun (President, 2008-2011)
Tomoko Masuzawa (President, 2005-2008)
Greg Alles (President, 2002-2005)
Jonathan Z. Smith (President, 1996-2002)
Rosalind Hackett (President, 1993-94)
Aaron Hughes, University of Rochester (Vice President (2014-2017)
Christopher Lehrich (Vice President, 2011-2014)
Winnifred Fallers Sullivan (Vice President, 2009-2011)
Bryan Rennie (Vice President, 2006-2009)
Julie Ingersoll (Vice President, 2003-2006)
William Arnal (Vice President, 2000-2003)
Brad Stoddard, McDaniel College (Executive Secretary, 2016-2017)
Craig Martin (Executive Secretary, 2011-2016)
Robert Yelle (Executive Secretary, 2007-2011)
Russell T. McCutcheon (Executive Secretary, 2004-2007)
Gary Lease (Executive Secretary, 1995-2004)

Governance Documents

Certificate of Incorporation

Original Constitution and Bylaws

Articles of Association

Current Bylaws

%d bloggers like this: